IMG_20130617_131201

German Chocolate Bundt Cake

Wanna know something rad?

Monday night, I wanted to see my best friend Hannah. So… we just called (who are we kidding? texted) each other and made plans to see each other. She came over, brought The Weatherman, and we all hate-watched The Bachelorette over one-too-many cocktails. (JK. Never too many cocktails).

I tell you what. This whole Living in the Same City as Your Best Friend thing is the best.

It is the weirdest– and most awesome– thing in the world to know that you can hang out with the people you love, like, whenever you want.

(I mean, probably not for normal people because they probably have always been able to do that. But, you know, Hannah and I are…not the most normal.)

IMG_20130616_151021

And, well, weird and awesome is kind of where I’m living my life right now.

IMG_20130616_151103

Moving into my first apartment without a roommate?  There’s no one who’s going to get irritated if I leave that bowl in the sink for the night? Weird. And awesome. (not that living with you wasn’t totally weird and awesome too, The Roomz!). But also there’s no one who is going to remember to take out the recycling before it starts to overflow? Weird. And… actually still kind of awesome. (I’m really into grown-up responsibility right now. Like, super in love with cleaning my apartment. How long can I expect this to last?? Really need to know.)

IMG_20130616_160010

Literally only wanting to eat salads for, like, 75% of my meals? WEIRD. But also awesome. Because I’ve heard that vegetables are good for you. And it also really helps allay my fear that I’m going to be one of the people that gains weight while studying for the bar. No one wants to be that person. So thanks for doing your part, Whole Foods salad bar.

IMG_20130616_184431

And here’s where I veer off the theme. Studying for the biggest and (fingers crossed) last test of my life? WEIRD. And not awesome in the slightest. Just really weird… and slightly (amazingly shockingly) terrible.

But don’t worry. I’m going to balance it out here. Because let’s be real: What’s more awesome than a piece of chocolate cake? (NOTHING. The answer is nothing). There’s nothing weird about it either. It’s just awesome. (See? Totally balanced here).

German Chocolate Bundt Cake

Makes one 10 cup bundt

Ingredients

Cake 

4 oz semi sweet chocolate, chopped
2 1/4 cups  cake flour (I made mine GF using Cup 4 Cup)
3/4 cup  unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 tsps baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup lukewarm coffee (or water)
1 cup buttermilk
1 1/4 cups (2.5 sticks(!)) unsalted butter, room temp
2 1/4 cups granulated sugar
5 large eggs, room temp
1 1/2 tsps vanilla

Frosting

1 cup pecans, toasted and chopped
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup evaporated milk (can also use light or heavy cream)
3 large egg yolks, lightly beaten
1/2 cup unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1/8 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups coconut (can be un/sweetened; shredded or flaked)
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease your bundt pan.
  2. Melt the semisweet chocolate, either in the microwave (10-15 seconds at a time so it doesn’t burn) or over a double-boiler. Once melted, remove from heat and let cool slightly.
  3. While it’s cooling, sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, stir your buttermilk and coffee together. Set both aside.
  4. Now, it’s time to cream together the butter and sugar. Start with just the butter, beating until smooth. Add your sugar and beat again until the mixture becomes light and fluffy. Add each of your eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Vanilla is next. Then add the melted chocolate and mix to combine.
  5. Add flour and buttermilk mixtures in three, alternating additions. Start and end with flour. Mix until just combined after each addition.
  6. Pour batter into prepared pan. Smooth out the top. Full disclosure: I converted this from a layer cake to a bundt cake recipe. There might be more batter here than a bundt pan can handle. As in: my cake went kind of nuts while it baked, rising and expanding quite a bit, almost swallowing the middle of the bundt pan in the process. So you can either take your chances that mine expanded so crazily because the GF flour messed with the chemistry a bit (I think this is most likely) OR you can maybe withhold some batter from the pan and make a few cupcakes with it instead. Your call. If you go my route, it did nothing but make the cake a little bit uneven when you flip it. Not even that noticeable.
  7. Bake for 60-70 minutes or until tester comes out clean. Remove from oven, let cool in pan for 20 minutes. Then, flip onto wire rack to cool completely.
  8. In the meantime, make your frosting! In a saucepan over medium heat, combine sugar, milk, egg yolks, butter, and salt. Stir constantly until the mixture thickens and starts to boil. This will take a good 10ish minutes. Remove from heat and let cool for a few minutes. Then stir in vanilla, pecans, and coconut. Set aside to cool until it reaches a spreadable consistency.
  9. Once both of the pieces are cooled sufficiently, top your bundt with as much/as little frosting as you like!

Recipe adapted from Joy of Baking.

I think I’m going to maybe make a whole cake for completely personal consumption tonight. Totally weird, totally awesome (and totally consistent with my earlier salad statement (I only want to eat Whole Foods salads 75% of the time. Pieces of cake (and sour patch kids) fill the other 25%. Duh.)). (Also, to be clear: I’m not going to eat the WHOLE cake tonight. If that was what you were thinking. My apartment will not be the set of real-life Matilda.)

IMG_20130617_131320

Bake with love!!

2 comments

  1. that is my all-time favorite cake and frosting! I’d love to bake it without a mix, and I appreciate that you posted a recipe! Thanks!! Bookmarked!!

    1. So glad to help out! The homemade version of the frosting is to. die. for. Hope you enjoy!
      -k

Leave a Reply

