Spiked Banana Bread

13 Jun

This week has felt a little bit like the universe punched me in the stomach.

It’s entirely possible (probable) that this is not the case. But this is how I feel. And because self-pity is an emotion that I’m intimately familiar with, I’m just gonna stick with it.

So. Just to lay the groundwork: I’m studying for the bar. Ew. If you’re not familiar with how rough (overwhelming? soul-crushing? life-sucking?) this process is, I direct you to this. (I’ve already checked off 6.5 of those. Will not admit to which ones yet.)

IMG_20130613_190502

Imagine how much worse it was, then, when I woke up on Monday morning SICK. Or maybe this is allergies. But all I know is that a Zyrtec-Benadryl tag team is not making my congested-yet-still-faucet-like nose lock that ish up. (Would like to take this opportunity to apologize to everyone– especially Hannah– who have had to sit next to me in the past few days. I’m not doing this on purpose).

IMG_20130613_192222

To recap: we’re at Bar + Sick. Then, and I’ll take (some of) the blame for this one (I guess. Whatever), I decided to take a break from studying to start reading The Fault in Our Stars Don’t ask me what possessed me to decide that now, of all times, was the time to read a book from the perspective of a teenager with terminal cancer. Like obviously that’s gonna be really uplifting and going to end really well and everyone gets everything they want in the end, Kate. OBVI. See above link. I’m sure it fits in there somewhere.

So Bar + Sick + Tragic Teen Lit = Overwhelming Feeling that the World Is Just CRUEL. (Like I said… I’m super good at this self-pity game.)

IMG_20130613_195124

I have a limited number of methods to combat this Overwhelming Feeling. One is to Buy Things. Like the new travel mug I purchased today. It’s pretty. I deserve it because the world is mean.

Two is to consume some alcohol. I deserve this glass of bourbon on the rocks because I am a victim of the universe. Second beer of the night is warranted by the fact that life is unfair.

IMG_20130613_215743

Three is to bake things. Obviously. The reasoning is a bit different, though. The world will become less sucky if I make these cupcakes because they are pretty and delicious. Creaming together butter and sugar is actually the way to World Peace.

Unrelated, but what is it called when you have a victim and a hero complex at the same time??

IMG_20130613_222747

Anyway, tonight I decided to combine Methods 2 and 3. Props to Joy the Baker for giving me the perfect recipe to do this (and to use those bananas that I inevitably don’t get to in time).

Chocolate Bourbon-Spiked Banana Bread

Makes one 9×5 loaf

Ingredients
2 cups all purpose flour
1 tbsp baking powder (yes tbsp)
1/2 tsp salt
1 stick unsalted butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas (I needed three bananas to make this happen)
1 tsp lemon juice
1/4 cup bourbon
1 cup coarsely chopped pecans (you can use walnuts; I just had pecans on hand)
1 cup semisweet chips

Directions 

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.  Grease and flour your loaf pan.
  2. Whisk together dry ingredients in medium bowl and set aside.
  3. Cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Then add your eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Then add your bourbon, lemon juice, and mashed bananas. Mix well.
  4. Add flour mix in one go. Mix until almost fully incorporated. Now you’re going to do the rest by hand (if you weren’t already). Add chopped nuts and chocolate and mix in by hand.
  5. Pour into loaf pan. Bake for 45-55 minutes or until a tester comes out clean.
  6. Remove from oven and let cool in the pan for at least 20 minutes. Then move to a wire rack and let cool completely.

Recipe adapted from the lovely Joy the Baker Cookbook.

IMG_20130613_223031

Well, what I can say is this: This bourbon banana bread is helping me snap out of my intense baditude. So there’s that.

And I sincerely hope you can forgive me for my whining. Bake with love!!

4 Responses to “Spiked Banana Bread”

  1. Lauren of Simplified Feast 14 June 2013 at 7:02 am #

    “So Bar + Sick + Tragic Teen Lit = Overwhelming Feeling that the World Is Just CRUEL.” Hahaha- you are SO right! I just finished this book, too. Not sure why I picked it up either… the world is silly enough as it is. However, I do enjoy your thoughts on the glasses of bourbon and beer… life is too short. Looking forward to making this bread, I love Joy the Baker :)

    • FleurDeLicious 14 June 2013 at 2:27 pm #

      I mean, it was a wonderful book (objectively). But UGH. Thank you for validating my feelings!
      And glad you agree with my beer/bourbon views. :)
      Hope you enjoy the bread! (Though I’m sure you will because Joy can do no wrong).
      -k

  2. mydearbakes 15 June 2013 at 12:25 am #

    Hmmm, this looks so delicious! I love it! =)

    • FleurDeLicious 15 June 2013 at 9:24 am #

      So glad you think so! Just finished off a piece for breakfast, so I’m DEF on your wavelength. :)
      -k

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 761 other followers

