IMG_20130418_132855

Bourbon Caramel Cookies

Well… I’ve figured out where all the stuff I was complaining about last post comes from.

I’ve been moving into my new apartment (in Dallas! Where Hannah lives!). And moving into a new place requires some shopping for essentials that you didn’t feel like end up moving. Like brooms and sponges and dish soap. You know, responsible, adult things.

But in my last few days of apartment nesting, I’ve noticed that I maybe (totally) let myself buy whatever I want, using the emotional trauma and stress of moving as an excuse for that purchasing behavior.

As you can imagine, this leads to… Stuff. Lots of it.

IMG_20130417_220127

Like yes, I bought a shower curtain and dishwasher detergent and trash bags. But I also ended up with two bags of black pepper Kettle Chips. And a candle that smells like cookie dough (though… obviously. Right? Who would actually pass that up??)

Also, somehow I bought another Real Simple recipe compilation while at Target. And an orchid. I can’t help it. These things are too pretty. Pretty things lower stress and that’s just a scientific fact.

IMG_20130418_091626

Meanwhile, I neglected to buy things like… chairs. Until today (so basically for a week), there was nothing to sit on in my apartment. No couch, no desk chair, no stools… Not even a bean bag, Kate? Nope. None of those made the move (also I’ve never owned a bean bag, (un)fortunately).

And then none of them made their way into my cart at Target after I realized this fact. Only so much room in there with the Kettle Chips and the cookie dough candles and the slightly-different-shade-from-the-one-you-already-own nail polishes, you know.

IMG_20130418_094613

But! Today was productive. I bought a chair! In fact, it was SO productive, I bought two chairs.

And then I came home and christened my kitchen through the sacred act of creaming together butter and sugar. Big day, y’all.

Bourbon Caramel Cookies

Makes about 18 cookies

Ingredients 

2 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
4 tbsp butter, room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup bourbon caramel sauce (plus maybe a little more depending on your consistency)
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla
raw sugar, sea salt (about 1.5:1 ratio is what I went with) for sprinkling

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Whisk together dry ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Cream together butter and sugar. The ratio here is a little different than in other cookies, so it might not be as light and fluffy as you’re used to. It’s cool. Don’t freak out about it.
  3. Add egg and vanilla and beat til combined. Add bourbon caramel and mix til well incorporated.
  4. Add dry ingredients. You might need to add more caramel to fix the consistency (like 1-2 more tablespoons. Nothing crazy). The dough should be firm without being dry.
  5. Drop mounds of dough, about two tablespoons each, onto a baking sheet about 3-4 inches apart. Sprinkle with the raw sugar/sea salt mixture. I got pretty heavy handed about it because that’s how I roll. But get as crazy or not crazy as you want to (obvi).
  6. Bake for about 18-20 minutes or until cookies are firm and starting to brown around the edges. This is going to be a bit harder than with normal sugar cookies since the dough is already brown-ish. Really, just look to the edges of the cookies to see when they’re starting to set and crisp a bit. When you start to see that, pull them out of the oven.
  7. Let the cookies cool for 5ish minutes on the cookie sheet. Then move to a rack until fully cool.

Recipe adapted from the Salted Caramel Cookies I posted a while back

IMG_20130418_132855

These cookies are just as delish as their Salted Caramel cousins, but a bit boozier. Plus, I added the raw sugar/sea salt sprinkle because I’m obsessed with the idea of that lately.

And, you know, if you have any extra self-control lying around, feel free to send it my way. Would love to somehow keep this apartment clutter-free  (ha! yeah right!). Bake with love!!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

