S’mores Whoopie Pies

17 May

Have you ever watched that show on TLC (or maybe A&E?) about hoarders?

Just like an hour of people being amazed at how much stuff someone can accumulate and fighting with them about how, no, they don’t actually need every newspaper printed since 1989?

Here’s a secret: I can’t bear to watch Hoarders because I’m terrified that I will become/already am one.

I’m currently in the throes of packing up my apartment to get ready for the move to Dallas (where my BEST FRIEND HANNAH lives!!!!!). Nothing is as good at making me feel like a hoarder as moving is.

IMG_20130414_102041

Seriously, you guys. Where did all this STUFF come from? Why did I feel compelled to hang on to every piece of mail I ever received over the past three years?

Craft supplies? What possessed me to buy those??

IMG_20130414_124103

Plastic bucket I impulse bought from Target for $1? Check. Bags from online shopping purchases that I just kept forgetting to throw away? Check. Almost-empty conditioner bottles from those times when I don’t run out of shampoo and conditioner at the same time? Check check check.

Would like to take this opportunity to thank the wonderful people at Goodwill for not judging me for the… five trips I’ve made to their fine establishment in the past week with donations ranging from clothes to bags to books. They just smile, ask if I’d like a receipt, and tell me to have a nice day.

IMG_20130414_133910

Do you think they might be secretly thinking that I’m getting over a hoarding habit? One step at a time??

…man. Probably, right?! What a bummer.

IMG_20130414_135215

Well. At least I’m in recovery. First step on that road is admitting you have a problem, right? Consider that step accomplished.

S’more Whoopie Pies

Makes about 3 dozen

IngredientsĀ 

3/4 cup butter, softened, plus 3 Tbsp
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cup graham cracker crumbs (use food processor to grind up crackers)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 large 4.4 oz Hershey bar, grated (this is going to take some patience)
1 package semi-sweet chocolate chunks (12 oz)

marshmallow fluff
1/2 c powdered sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350Ā°F.
  2. Pulse graham crackers in a food processor until finely ground. They’re going to be replacing some of your flour so you want it to be pretty fine. Combine the crumbs with flour, baking soda, and salt and then set that aside.
  3. Cream together 3/4 cup butter and sugars. Add in your eggs and vanilla. Combine with flour mixture and grated Hershey bar.
  4. Scoop by tablespoon onto a baking sheet. Bake 7-8 minutes or until slightly set on the outsides. Transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.
  5. Combine marshmallow fluff and powdered sugar.
  6. Melt chocolate chunks and butter together in a heatproof bowl. Stir until smooth and glossy.
  7. Once cookies are cooled, spread 1-2 tbsp marshmallow fluff mixture between two cookies. Dip half into chocolate. Let cool on wax paper.

Recipe adapted from Ring Finger Tanline

IMG_20130414_141607

 

Wish me luck with my mess of an apartment. Bake with love!!

2 Responses to “S’mores Whoopie Pies”

  1. Brittany 17 May 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    Oh man Hoarders is so entertaining and SO scary at the same time. I have a hard time letting go of some things, but I don’t think I will ever become a hoarder!! I would however hoard these whoopie pies!

  2. FleurDeLicious 19 May 2013 at 12:17 am #

    I’m glad you’re more confident in your ability to let things go. Hopefully I can stumble upon some of that. I am DEF on board with hoarding these, though.
    -k

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 780 other followers

