Raspberry Rhubarb Pie

2 May

Milestones are happening in the Fleur-De-Licious world!  Milestones like the last day of law school class.  And the last finals ever.  And impending real world lawyer jobs.  MOST IMPORTANTLY however, Kate will be moving to Dallas soon, which is where I live, which means that for the first time since graduating high school in 2006…I get to live in the same city as my best friend.  There will be champagne when she gets here.  We are classy ladies.

However before that happens, I have to sit for my last exam of the second year of med school tomorrow.  Which is nowhere near the last test.  Really it’s like, the last bit of studying I’ll have to do for a couple of days…then we start studying again.  Womp womp.  Whatevs.  I’ll take it.

photo 4

Clearly I’ve learned a lot this year, number one thing being that if you’re less than 12 hours away from an exam, you should defs be writing a blog post instead of studying.

No one ever said common sense was a requirement for getting into med school.  Sorry patients.

photo 2(1)

That being said…I should probs study a little.  So let’s make this short and sweet.  I decided to make a rhubarb pie to bring to brunch at my physician mentor’s house.  On the way there, some pie spilled on my friend Grant’s pants, in a terrible place, and I felt like the worst person.  Then we got to brunch, and lo and behold…rhubarb pie is my mentor’s favorite kind of pie!  I think this means I get to graduate early with honors as the greatest physician ever with an automatic Nobel prize.  At least, that’s what I hear.  I’m still waiting for someone to contact me about it.

photo 1

Other awesome thing?  When I bought the rhubarb, it was supposed to be $6.99 per pound.  I loaded up 2 pounds, and then after leaving the grocery realized that my entire bill was less than $11.  Aka…they keyed in the rhubarb wrong.  Aka…I didn’t tell anyone about this.  Aka…I’m a bad person.  A bad person who makes really good pie, if I do say so myself.

I feel like that wasn’t short and sweet.  Oops.

photo 2

Raspberry Rhubarb Pie

Makes one 9-inch pie

Ingredients:
1 recipe Martha Stewart’s Pate Brisée (I increase the sugar to 1 TBS)
1 3/4 lbs rhubarb – peel if stalks are very large, chop into 1/2-inch pieces
1 cup raspberries, fresh or frozen
1 cup granulated sugar, plus extra for sprinkling
3 TBS cornstarch
1 egg
1 TBS water

Directions:
1. Roll out one disk of pie dough to a 12 to 13-inch circle.  Fit the dough into the pie dish (I usually fold the dough gently in quarters to transfer it easily), and fold the overhanging crust up over the rim of the pie dish to make kind of a double crust.  Place the pie dish in the freezer while you make the filling.
2. Preheat the oven to 375F with a rack in the lower middle (or even lowest, depending on your oven’s temperament) position.
3. In a large bowl, combine the rhubarb, raspberries, 1 cup sugar, and cornstarch.  Toss until the rhubarb is evenly coated with the sugar and cornstarch.
4. If you’re just doing a double crust pie, roll out the 2nd disk of dough to about 1/4″ thickness (about a 13″ round).  If you’re doing a lattice, roll it out to between 1/8″ and 1/4″ thickness, then cut into strips about 1/2″ wide with a thin, sharp knife.  I’m going to direct you to Simply Recipes to see a good lattice top tutorial because if I tried to explain…it would be a disaster.
5. Remove the pie dish from the freezer and transfer the filling to the pie dish.  Weave your lattice top, or place the 2nd crust on top of the filling.  Trim any overhang, and pinch/crimp/press down the edges with a fork…whatever you like.  If you’re doing a double crust, cut 4 stem vents in the top crust.
6. Beat the egg and the water in a small bowl with a fork.  Brush the egg wash over the top crust of the pie and sprinkle with granulated sugar.  Bake the pie for about 1 to 1 1/2 hours, until the filling is bubbling.  If the top crust starts to brown, you can tent it with foil or use a fancy pie ring around the edges to protect it.  If you’re using a glass pie dish, I like to take a look at the bottom of the pie to see if the crust is lightly golden before I take it out of the oven.
7. Let the pie cool completely on a wire rack before serving.  This really allows the juices to set up so that when you slice it, the whole thing doesn’t fall apart.  You could even refrigerate the pie for a bit before serving to make slicing even easier.  It’s best with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!  Pie will keep at room temperature, tightly covered, for up to 2 days.

Recipe for filling adapted from Serious Eats

photo 3

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

2 Responses to “Raspberry Rhubarb Pie”

  1. Lauren of Simplified Feast 2 May 2013 at 7:20 am #

    This looks so DELICIOUS. Thanks for including Martha’s dough recipe and the lattice tutorial… Both super helpful for when I try to make this pie! Good luck on your exams.

  2. laurasmess 8 May 2013 at 6:30 am #

    This is a gorgeous looking pie! Congrats on the law school milestone! I started law school and quit after 3rd year (too much stress and I wasn’t sure that the career was right for me) so I admire people who finish greatly!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 759 other followers

