Swedish Visiting Cake

22 Apr

Oh, man. Last week, you guys.

Forgive our extended absence. It was hard to muster much of a positive attitude with all the crazy happening in the world. Joking about our complete inability to act like adults felt a bit inappropriate.

But! The week ended with a little bit of closure and with some good old fashioned heroics (of the law enforcement as well as normal people type). And now we’ve found some extra brain space to bring you some goodness!

By that I mean, this is Kate. Putting off studying for finals.

I’m currently prepping for my last round of finals. Ever.

(Unless I decide to follow in Hannah’s footsteps and become a doctor instead. I mean… she makes it look so fun.)

IMG_20130409_190517

It’s a really weird feeling. That I’m going to take my last school test. And then graduate for the last time.

What do you be when you can no longer be a student? What does that even look like? These are the questions that occupy my brainspace lately.

Thankfully(?), I have a bit of a buffer between graduation and being a full-blown adult. In that I have to study for (and take (and pass?)) the Texas Bar Exam.

IMG_20130409_200039

I don’t want to talk about my two and half day test right now, though.

And I certainly don’t want to talk about being completely independent (financially and otherwise).

And, please, could we not talk about the four finals I have to study for? Or how just dumb(dumbdumbdumbbb) I was for deciding to take four finals my last semester? Let’s just not.

IMG_20130409_200834

Instead, let’s talk about my graduation outfit. Do I wear a blazer or go real risque and wear my sleeveless dress by itself? Can I wear mint green shoes with silver toes and also rock a pink and gold necklace? These are important questions.

Or, we can talk about Veronica Mars. Because it wouldn’t be Finals Prep Time if I hadn’t found a new TV show to obsessively watch. I am nothing if not reliabl(y obsessed with television).

Or, maybe better, we can just talk about this cake. It’s bright and light and kind of the best thing to eat after a terrible horrible no good bad week.

Swedish Visiting Cake

Makes one 9″ cake

Ingredients

1 cup sugar, plus extra for sprinkling
Zest of 1 lemon
2 large eggs
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 stick unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1/4 cup sliced almonds

Directions

  1. Grease a 9″ cake pan or cast-iron skillet. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Make some citrus sugar! Rub lemon zest into the sugar (with your fingers or a fork) until the sugar is moist and smells of lemons. Add eggs one at a time, whisking until combined. Next, add your salt and extracts. 
  3. Fold in flour. Then fold in your melted butter. This last step can take a little while. Keep at it. Stay gentle. It’ll get there.
  4. Pour batter into your prepared pan. Sprinkle with almonds and extra granulated sugar.
  5. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until golden brown on top and crisping on the edges. The cake will still be moist/wet on the inside. Don’t freak out. It’s okay. As long as it’s browned and crispy on the top, you’re good.
  6. Remove from oven and let cool in pan for at least 5 minutes before serving.

Recipe from Baking: From My Home to Yours

IMG_20130410_003224

Hopefully, this week only continues to get better. Because weeks without us complaining about not understanding real life are dark weeks indeed.

Bake with love!!

2 Responses to “Swedish Visiting Cake”

  1. jmcvl 22 April 2013 at 1:59 pm #

    this looks delicious! Looks so light and tasty. Might have to give it a go if I can hunt down some flaked almonds x

    • FleurDeLicious 23 April 2013 at 11:09 am #

      It is definitely light and tasty! A friend found it looking through my Dorie cookbook and requested it and I’m so glad he did. Good luck on your almond quest!
      -k

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 780 other followers

