Mint Chocolate Cookies & Cream Cookies

16 Mar

Well. It is official. I have decided I’m done spending money. I will instead be revolutionizing the world by re-introducing the barter system.

Amazon would like $49.00 for that external hard drive?  How about instead I send them this lovely cake stand I never use?

USMLE wants ridiculous amounts of money for board exams and test prep? I believe these Eiffel Tower wine glasses will do just fine.

photo 1-1

The man changing my oil wants EXTRA money for fancy high mileage oil? Orrrrr a batch of these cookies should work.

My favorite thing that I’m supposed to pay money for is this however: the US government likes to email me to remind me that interest is accruing on my student loans AS WE SPEAK and it would be so much cheaper if I pay off that interest now!!!!

photo 2-1

Yes government. You are right. However, if I could pay off that interest now, don’t you think I maybe wouldn’t need a loan? No one ever praised the government for being too bright though, which is why I think I have a really good chance of tricking them into accepting my Grey’s Anatomy season 2 DVDs as payment.

photo 3

I made these cookies to use up some mint chocolate chips I had lying around, then realized they’re perfect for St. Patrick’s day. I also used cream cheese in the dough to make them a little softer and lighter, and some chopped up mega stuft Oreos took them over the top!

Mint Chocolate cookies & Cream Cookies

Ingredients:

6 TBS unsalted butter, softened

6 oz cream cheese, softened

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

1tsp vanilla extract

1 egg plus 1 egg yolk (large)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 cups plus 2 TBS umbleached all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tom2 cups mint chocolate chips (if you can’t find these, chopped Andes mints should work fine)

about 12-14 mega stuff Oreos, roughly chopped

Directions:

1. In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and cream cheese together on medium High speed until smooth, about 2 minutes. Beat in the sugar on medium speed for 2 minutes. Beat in the vanilla and eggs.

2. With a rubber spatula, stir in the baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Gently stir in the flour until almost combined. Stir in the chips and the chopped cookies carefully (you don’t want to crush all the Oreos).  Using a medium cookie scoop or a spoon, scoop out 1.5 inch balls of dough and place them on a plate. Freeze the balls of dough for about 30 minutes.

3. While the dough is chilling, preheat the oven to 325F with a rack in the middle position. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper. When the oven is preheated, place the cookies about 2 inches apart on the prepared sheet (leave any remaining dough in the freezer for the next batch).

4. Bake the cookies for about 17 minutes,until they are lightly golden around the edges and just dry on top. Let the cookies cool on the sheet for 3 minutes,then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Bake the remaining cookies.  Cookies will keep in an airtight container at room temp for 4 days.

photo 2

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

5 Responses to “Mint Chocolate Cookies & Cream Cookies”

  1. jmcvl 17 March 2013 at 4:05 am #

    I think we should all jump on your idea of bartering! I could do with Saving a little too. Everything costs so much. :-(

    Your photos and bake look beautiful as ever xxx

    • FleurDeLicious 2 April 2013 at 7:24 am #

      Glad I have some supporters for the bartering movement!
      ~ H

  2. Lazy Suzan 21 March 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    Yum! They look great!

    • FleurDeLicious 2 April 2013 at 7:25 am #

      Thanks Suzan! They were pretty delicious.

  3. britmebaby 21 March 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    Why would you ever get rid of Grey’s Season 2???

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 778 other followers

