Mississippi Mud Brownies

IMG_20130203_164746

Apologies that we’ve fallen into a habit of only posting once every seven days over here.

I had planned on getting this recipe up for you on Friday. And then on Saturday. Obviously, I didn’t succeed.

Wanna know why?

I’m currently suffering from a severe case of The Tomorrows.

The Tomorrows. As in “I need to write up that recipe for the blog today. Hm. I’ll do it tomorrow.”

IMG_20130203_131224

I believe the technical term for this is “procrastination.” I am choosing to call it The Tomorrows because my current bout with it is very time specific.

It’s not “I haven’t done laundry in five weeks. I should do it today. But I’ll do it later.” No. I specifically say “I haven’t done laundry in five weeks. I have free time today. But I’ll do it tomorrow.”

IMG_20130203_134206

(Sidenote: I know. Gross. In my defense, I still had clean underwear. I had actually run out of clean workout clothes like a week ago. And more in my defense: I did my laundry yesterday. Don’t worry).

Another example? “I should really stop eating whole pints of ice cream in one go. I should eat vegetables for dinner instead. But I need to go to the grocery store to make that happen. I’ll go tomorrow.”

IMG_20130203_135648

Or I have GOT to clean my room/start running again/start going to yoga 4 times a week… Tomorrow. Tomorrow is when I’m going to start making that happen. Because today I NEED to take a nap/eat an entire bag of chips/watch the whole romcom section on Netflix streaming.

I’ve been fighting this case of Tomorrows for a couple weeks now. It is both a hard habit to shake and an extremely frustrating habit to have. Luckily, The Roommate has been juice cleansing and running every day and leaving the apartment more than twice a day lately. Which is now making me really hate the Tomorrows. Example: I did my laundry yesterday.

IMG_20130203_140255

Another example: I went to yoga on Friday. Am going again in an hour.

Another one? I wrote you this blog post!

Mississippi Mud Brownies

Makes one 8×8 pan 

Ingredients
Brownies
¾ cups all-purpose flour
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
½ tsp salt
6 tbsp unsalted butter, room temp
1 cup sugar
¾ tsp vanilla
2 eggs
¾ cups semisweet chocolate chips
½ cups crunchy peanut butter
1 ½ tsp canola oil
2 cups mini marshmallows
½ cups pecans, toasted and coarsely chopped
2 cups powdered sugar
Frosting
⅛ tsp salt
4 tbsp unsalted butter
2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
¼ cups milk
¼ tsp vanilla

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line an 8×8 pan with parchment (if you want to use foil, then make sure to grease it).
  2. Combine flour, cocoa powder, salt in a bowl and set aside. Cream together butter, sugar, and vanilla until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Stir in dry ingredients. Transfer to pan and sprinkle with chocolate chips. Bake for 22-25 minutes.
  3. Once you remove the brownies from the oven, microwave the peanut butter and the oil for about 10 seconds. Then stir together and pour over the warm brownie layer.
  4. Sprinkle with marshmallows. Return to the oven for about 3 minutes to melt/brown that layer.
  5. Sprinkle chopped pecans on top of the marshmallows after removing the brownies from the oven.
  6. As the brownies begin to cool, start work on the frosting. Stir together the powdered sugar and salt in a heatproof bowl. Set aside.
  7. Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Add cocoa powder and milk, and heat until the mixture begins to boil. Pour this mixture into the powdered sugar/salt. Whip on high speed until frosting is shiny and smooth. You want the mixture to be pourable. If it isn’t, try adding one to two tablespoons of milk. Add vanilla.
  8. Pour the frosting over the marshmallows and pecans. Pro tip: try to do this evenly because it is quite challenging to smooth this over the marshmallows since those are warm and the frosting is much denser than they are. So basically, if you end up with a huge pool of frosting in one place, well… it’s gonna get messy if you try to even that out. Which is fine. Who says these have to be pretty if they’re delicious.
  9. Cover and chill for 1-2 hours. Remove from pan and cut into squares.

Recipe from Tasty Kitchen.

IMG_20130203_164659

Was running late making these for a party. Hence why the photos are messy and there are no pictures of them actually cut into brownies.

It’s only been a couple of days here, so who knows if my current state of Getting Things Done is sustainable. Fingers crossed, guys!

Bake with love!!

5 comments

  1. I love you and am so glad I could inspire you to do laundry! I am mad I never saw even a hint of these though! I will have to leave the apartment less often now.

Leave a Reply

