Salted Mudslide Cookies

17 Jan

You guys.

I did it.

I survived my first half marathon!!!

IMAG0306[1]

Team Rawlings!! We finished!

Apparently, I’m quite easy to influence after I run 13.1 miles. Because when I was told to bite my medal Olympian-style, I did it without batting an eye. My family had a little more self-control.

But really. You guys! I finished. (!!!)

Ignore the time. I actually finished about 10 minutes faster than that. I swear.

Ignore the time. I actually finished about 10 minutes faster than that. I swear.

AND I wasn’t the last person across the finish line!

AND AND I did it faster than if I walked it!

AND AND AND I finished in under three hours!

IMG_20130110_192727

Saturday was a big win for me. And even though I swore up and down while training that I would never ever ever ever ever do this again… I’m kinda thinking about doing it again.

I’m not sure I’ve ever felt so accomplished. And that feeling is quite addictive.

Anyway. When you (translate: when I) run a half marathon, I feel this gives you (me) an excuse to eat whatever you (I) want. I mean, you burn two days calories that day so you can basically eat two days worth of food.

IMG_20130110_195130

Most people probably only follow this line of logic for like… the day of the race. But not me! I commit. Been eating whatever I want for the past week on the theory that “I ran a half marathon.”

IMG_20130110_201559

Ice cream for lunch? Yes. I ran a half marathon. Cheese fries for dinner? Yes. I ran a half marathon.

IMG_20130111_184725

Six of these cookies in a sitting? Yes… I don’t know if you’ve heard, but I ran a half marathon.

Salted Mudslide Cookies

Makes about 3 dozen

Ingredients

2 cups + 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup dark cocoa powder
3 tbsp instant coffee powder
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 stick unsalted butter, melted
1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg, 1 egg yolk, at room temp
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup Kahlua
1 cup chocolate chips
sea salt for sprinkling

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F. Whisk together flour, cocoa powder, instant coffee, and baking soda in a small bowl. Set aside.
  2. Combine butter and sugars in another bowl. Add the egg, yolk, vanilla and mix until combined. Then, drizzle in the Kahlua while mixing on low speed.
  3. Add your flour gradually, mixing until the dough comes together. It’s going to seem crumbly at first, but the dough is actually quite wet when you mix it enough. So just keep mixing and it will get there. Fold in chocolate chips.
  4. Refrigerate for 30 minutes. Then drop in ~2 tbsp balls about 2 inches apart (I used my medium cookie scoop). Sprinkle with sea salt. Bake for 10-12 minutes. You want the edges to be set, but the middles will still look puffy and soft. They’re done. I promise.
  5. Let cool on pans for 5 minutes. Then move to wire rack to cool completely.

Recipe from How Sweet It Is

In all seriousness, I am fully on board with what Hannah said after she ran her half. Nothing in my life has made me appreciate my body more than those minutes (hours) on the race course. I asked my body to run twice as much as it ever had (I’m good at training?) and IT DID. Truly amazing.

IMG_20130111_184829

It’s probably only because subconsciously, it knew that these cookies were waiting as a reward.

Bake with love!!

7 Responses to “Salted Mudslide Cookies”

  1. hometimeblog 17 January 2013 at 11:02 pm #

    Congratulations – what a great achievement and the recipe looks delicious too!

    • FleurDeLicious 17 January 2013 at 11:05 pm #

      Thanks so much! I feel like a much cooler person with “Finished a half marathon” on my resume. :)
      -k

  2. The Vagabond Baker 18 January 2013 at 5:55 am #

    well done! Definitely deserving of a stack of cookies!

    • FleurDeLicious 18 January 2013 at 1:03 pm #

      Thank you! Glad I have your support in my pursuit of cookies. :)
      -k

  3. thesassyapron 23 January 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    I used my marathon in December as an excuse for the whole month :) Love salty sweet!

    • FleurDeLicious 23 January 2013 at 5:57 pm #

      1. Congrats on the marathon! That’s totally awesome. 2. That means I’m still in the clear. Not quite two weeks since I ran my half, so I’ve got a few more days to clean up my eating act. Phew. :)
      -k

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. German Chocolate Ice Cream « Fleur-De-Licious - 28 January 2013

    [...] completed. (Ten-year-old Me would think this MUST be a lie. She (Me? We?) HATES [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 761 other followers

