Baked Pumpkin Cake Donuts

11 Dec

I took my first final of the semester yesterday.

Whew.

Especially whew because, um, I thought my exam was three hours and found out as the proctor was telling us the exam instructions that, no, it was in fact a four hour test. That’s a nice(?) surprise. Thanks to the parking gods for not giving me a ticket even though I only paid for three hours of parking, not four.

Since my first final was yesterday, my first test ritual of the semester also occurred yesterday. Test rituals are weird. But everyone totally has one. And they’re all totally psycho (in the best way promise).

Here’s what mine looks like:

First, I have to get a venti Americano. From the Starbucks at 38th and Guad. It’s way luckier if it’s a holiday cup, but maybe that’s just because I like those more… I don’t think that holiday cups would actually produce better results if I were to look at the data of fall v. spring grades.

IMG_20121202_155251[1]

Anyway, so I have my coffee. Next piece of the puzzle is: silly bands.

IMG_20121202_155934[1]

…I know. But it started as like kind of a joke first semester of law school. I bought a new pack of silly bands and my friends and I each took one from the pack to wear through finals (for luck! Haha!). Except for not haha! anymore. Now it is a tradition that I put far too much stake in. Example: As I went to start distributing the new pack for this semester on Sunday, I realized I wasn’t wearing my silly bands. Which is weird because I don’t take them off… Like ever. I then proceeded to spend two hours I should have been studying searching for them like a mad woman and focusing on deep breaths to thwart the panic attack that was threatening to take over my brain. I may have also started crying at one point because I thought I was going to have to take this exam without them on. Then I definitely cried when I found them.

IMG_20121202_160513[1]

…I’m crazy. I get it. Doesn’t make me any less superstitious about it.

In my defense, I got my first A wearing my first silly band. So there’s at least SOME indication that they are, in fact, lucky. Also in my defense, The Accountant’s test ritual was taking all his accounting tests with the same mechanical pencil. Once he tore his room apart looking for it and had to go to a test late because he didn’t find it until 5 minutes before the exam started. Another time he snuck (sneaked? snook?) that pencil into his CPA testing room even though you’re not allowed to bring anything into the exam room with you.

See? I’m not alone in this!

I also have a specific set of things I must have with me on my desk (in addition to my Americano): A large glass/bottle of water. Chapstick. One pencil. One pen.

IMG_20121202_163814[1]

I don’t have a go-to song that I listen to absolutely every time I’m walking into an exam. But I do make sure that I only listen to the song that is making me happiest/making me laugh the most at the moment. First semester was “Tonight (I’m Loving You)” by Enrique. Last semester it Jay and Kanye. This morning, I was blasting One Direction’s “Heart Attack.”

I have great taste in pump-up music. I know.

IMG_20121202_164523[1]

Pumpkin Cake Donuts

Makes about 12 donuts

Ingredients

1/2 cup veggie oil
3 eggs
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 cups pumpkin puree
1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (or 3/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1/4 tsp nutmeg)
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 3/4 cup +2 tbsp all purpose flour

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F.  Grease your donut pans (typed pants at first. Thought about leaving it. You have a pair of donut pants, too, right?).
  2. Beat together everything but your flour in a bowl until smooth.
  3. Add flour and mix until just combined.
  4. Fill the each donut hole about 3/4 the way full. Smooth the tops out so that they bake up evenly.
  5. Bake for about 15-18 minutes or until a tester comes out clean. After about 5 minutes, the donuts are set enough to be removed from the pan and moved onto a wire rack.
  6. While they’re still warm, shake them in a bag of pumpkin pie spice (instead of plain of cinnamon) sugar. Place back on wire rack to cool completely. Or just dig right in like I did (what’s better than a warm donut?!?)

Recipe from King Arthur Flour

IMG_20121202_164646[1]

…these donuts don’t have anything to do with finals or test rituals. But they are really yummy!

Bake with love!

2 Responses to “Baked Pumpkin Cake Donuts”

  1. Valentina at The Baking Fairy 27 December 2012 at 12:29 am #

    This post seriously had me cracking up. Only because I can so relate! I haven’t come up with any crazy test superstitious rituals for my finals, except I must always have a hairband on my wrist and I neeed my water bottle with me. And its a specific water bottle, so if it’s forgotten at home, it means trouble. Glad I am not alone though! The silly bands thing made me laugh :) AND also your donuts looks great ;)

    • FleurDeLicious 27 December 2012 at 12:45 pm #

      Something about tests just makes everyone a touch (or in my case, a ton) more superstitious. Glad you enjoyed the post! Thanks for stopping by (and fingers crossed you never misplace your lucky water bottle)!!
      -k

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 761 other followers

