Three Chip Cookies

17 Nov

I just finished watching this week’s Parenthood.

This means that, currently, I’m in a very fragile place emotionally. (I dare you to watch an episode without crying. At least once).

I guess that’s not all that noteworthy. Except… I kind of do this to myself intentionally. Like, it’s not even that I know it will destroy me emotionally. It’s that I want it to completely break me.

Normal people do that, right?

No? Is it just me? Am I the only emotional-masochist out there?

In the interest of sounding fully deranged: I do this with more than just Parenthood. I have a go-to list of movies, TV episodes, and songs that I know will make me fall apart. You know… in case I ever need to make that happen.

Need a good happy(ish)-cry? Watch Pride & Prejudice. The Kiera Knightley version, more specifically. Prepare to cry from the sunrise-walk Mr. Darcy monologue to pretty much the end of the movie.

What about a sad-cry? Like I need to feel my heartbroken into a million pieces for just a few minutes cry? Press play on Brokeback Mountain. The most beautiful, heartbreaking love story will do the rest.

Maybe you’re looking to emotionally terrorize yourself but don’t have the time to commit to a movie. That’s fine. TV episodes can do the trick for you too.

Parenthood. Literally any episode. Pick one. Drink a little red wine. Grab some tissues. Press play and just fall apart.

If you’ve really got a time crunch and are looking for a quickie-cry, listen to one of these songs during a drive.

“Never Let Me Go” by Florence + the Machine if you’re looking to weep. Almost anything from Ryan Adams’ last two albums if you’re interested in crying, but not weeping. Personal favorites include “Cobwebs,” “Crossed Out Name,” and “I Love You But I Don’t Know What to Say.”  “Lemonworld” by The National if you just need like a two-tear cry.

Yes. I’ve put a lot of thought into this. Sometimes when you go through something as high-stress as law school finals every five months, you need some go-to catharsis.

Baking something always helps too.

Three Chip Cookies

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

Ingredients

2 sticks butter, room temp
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
2 eggs
1 tbsp vanilla
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup semisweet chips
1 cup butterscotch chips
1 cup white chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line cookie sheets with parchment/silpat. Whisk together dry ingredients. Set aside.
  2. Cream together butter and sugars. Add eggs one at a time. Add vanilla.
  3. Combine with dry ingredients. Mix until just combined. Fold in the three chips.
  4. Drop 1-2 tablespoons of dough onto cookie sheets 1 1/2 inches apart. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until the edges turn golden. Let cool on the baking sheets for a few minutes, then move to a wire rack to cool completely.

Recipe from Picky Palate

You’re welcome to steal any of my tried and true methods. You know, if you’re totally normal and like me.

Bake with love!!

2 Responses to “Three Chip Cookies”

  1. Aisha 27 November 2012 at 11:59 am #

    I can’t remember the last time I cried but at least I know where to come to when I need a confirmation that I’m still human lol.

    Have you seen One Day? I remember when it first came out, I went to the cinema by myself to watch it one Sunday afternoon and sat in the front row (there wasn’t a lot of people anyways), the film carried on and it got to this really emotional bit and I was literally bawling my eyes out. Must’ve been a funny sight to see a young lady sitting and crying in the cinema on her own haha but hey that’s life.

    • FleurDeLicious 27 November 2012 at 7:20 pm #

      I’m quite glad I can provide that service to you. :)
      And yes, One Day also made me bawl my eyes out. Luckily, I got to be a mess in the comfort of my own bed, but I commend you for taking yourself to a chick flick. I love a good solo movie date!
      -k

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 780 other followers

