IMG_20121025_152945[1]

Chocolate Chip Banana Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

You guys, EPIC NEWS.

We (Hannah and I) took a picture together when we were in the same place and looking pretty!! Check it ouuuuttt!

Sorry if this ruins some elaborate narrative you had about us actually being the same person, or two different sides of Hannah’s personality, or if you thought that I was maybe a dude. I hope you can forgive us and that we can still be internet friends.

Okay, with that EPIC NEWS out of the way, let’s talk about something really serious… Like how everything is out to get me recently.

Seriously, you guys, my life is soooooo unfair lately.

Let’s make a cake.

As I type this, The Accountant is spending his second evening in Barcelona. You know, just taking a quick little trip to one of my favorite cities in the world for the weekend. He sent me a beautiful picture of the sunrise over the Mediterranean because that’s how he spent his morning.

Wanna know how I spent my morning?! Taking a test about professional ethics for lawyers. I had to get up at 730 on a Saturday so that I could answer 60 questions about what I’m supposed to do as a lawyer when (if?) I get admitted to the Bar. I wasn’t allowed to bring water or coffee or even a watch into my testing room with me. The Accountant gets the ocean and Spain. I get cold testing rooms and dehydration.

UGH.

Which leads me to another unfair thing: Because I was trying to be responsible or whatever about this test (that is only a prerequisite for getting licensed for the profession I have chosen. Psh. NBD.), I couldn’t open a bottle of wine last night even though I really wanted to. Like a lot. I was eating pizza, and I couldn’t even chase it with half a bottle of red.

You guuuyyysss. My life is so hard.

Also unfair? The way my cat treats me (wow I’ve maybe never said anything more cat ladyesque in my life.). All I do is love her and feed her and let her destroy my stuff. And she tries to kill me in return. For real.

You see, she has this super cute habit of turning over water cups when she gets bored and thinks you aren’t paying her enough attention. So she did that in the middle of the night last week. It just so happens that the cup was on my windowsill, which conveniently has an electrical outlet underneath it. So when I didn’t wake up after she turned the cup over, water started dripping into the outlet. And I woke up to sparks shooting out of my wall (it was actually like the Fourth of July, man). And then I had to be the girl who calls maintenance and says “Um. Sorry I didn’t know that electricity and water don’t mix well. Can you come fix my outlet? Lolzzz.”

UGHHHH.

And, it’s still so hot in Austin that I still have to run my air conditioning. IN NOVEMBER. I can’t wear sweaters and boots without sweating. I still think iced tea is a better idea than hot tea most days. I have no interest in making soup.

…why is everyone picking on me?

At least everything is perfect for a while when I’m making a layer cake. You can never take that away from me!

Chocolate Chip Banana Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

Makes one, two layer, 8″ or 9″ cake

Ingredients

Cake
3 cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 sticks unsalted butter, room temp
1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
3 eggs
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups very ripe bananas, mashed
1 cup sour cream
1 1/4 cups mini chocolate chips

Frosting
2 cups creamy peanut butter
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
2 sticks unsalted butter, room temp
2 1/2 tsp vanilla

Chocolate chips of various sizes, chopped peanuts (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F. Grease your cake pans and line them with parchment. Except for real, line them with parchment. I skipped that step and had legit issues getting my cakes out of my pans in one piece.
  2. Whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside. Cream together butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well in between to combine. Add vanilla.
  3. Mix in your dry ingredients until just combined. Add bananas and sour cream, again just until combined. Fold in chocolate chips.
  4. Divide batter between pans evenly. Bake until a tester comes out clean and cakes are pulling away from the sides of the pan, 35-40 minutes.
  5. While still in pans, transfer to wire racks to cool for about 10 minutes. Then, remove cakes from pans and let cool completely on wire racks. Don’t forget to remove your parchment.
  6. While cooling, make your frosting. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and beat until frosting is light and fluffy, about three minutes.
  7. Assemble your cake! Use about 1/3 of the frosting between layers. Then use the rest around the sides and top. Finish by sprinkling assorted chocolate chips and chopped peanuts around the edge.

Recipe from Bon Appetit.

In all seriousness, though, despite how put-upon I honestly feel about these things, I know I’ve had a pretty good week compared to the week other parts of the country have had. Thinking about you, East Coasters! Visit the Red Cross’s website to see how you can help with relief efforts!!

Also: Tuesday is Election Day! Go vote, and bake with love!

7 comments

    1. Glad you can laugh at my pain. ;)
      And agreed! It’s such an easy cake but still looks beautiful, which is totally the best kind of cake.
      -k

  1. Omg you are hilarious. Your cat. Your boyfriend. The bar. This post was hilarious and the cake looks stunning! I hope you passed the bar with flying colors!

    1. Thank you so much, Erika! So glad you enjoyed the post. And I have since found out that I DID pass the bar (phew!).

      Thanks for stopping by!!
      -k

Leave a Reply

