Snickerdoodle Cheesecake Blondies

14 Oct

Is there a class I can take about weddings?  Specifically, a class or a book that will tell me all of the very basic questions that people expect me to the know the answers to, even though the wedding is 2 AND A HALF YEARS AWAY?

I went with my mom to look at a possible place to get married.  (I believe that’s called a venue?  Seriously.  Need help.)  This outing wasn’t as embarrassing as a few weeks ago when I met this lady who likes to plan weddings on the side.  At that little meeting, I informed her that I thought we would probably have 4 ushers “on each side.” 

You know this, I’m sure, because you don’t live under a rock, but ushers are only boys.  Got it.  Won’t make that mistake again.

When asked what I want my colors to be, I name a bunch of things that don’t go together.  “I LOVE mint green.  Oh, but this royal blue-ish purple-y shade looks really good on me!  What do you think about coral?  I LOVE gold too.  Hot pink?  I’m there.”

One time someone asked me about flowers.  Had I thought at all about flowers?  If by “thought about them” you mean have I decided if I like flowers, then yes.  I said I liked peonies.  End of sentence.  Why was it the end of my sentence?  Because I don’t know what any other flowers are called.  I know which ones are pretty, sure.  But that doesn’t help you answer the question.

I think we trace the issue back to this fact: I never, as a little girl or a big girl or anywhere in between, sat around and daydreamed about my wedding.  I thought it would obvs be nice to wear a big pretty dress, and dance around, and get presents, but there were no specifics, which are apparently required to start planning a wedding 2.5 years out.

Really, let’s be honest.  The only thing I have thought about in any detail is the cake.  DUH.  Do you not know me?  You must know how I’ve agonized over the fact that you can make fondant look like ANYTHING and it is gorgeous, but if there isn’t a 2-inch thick layer of buttercream on the cake, it’s probably not my cake.  There are so many options, so many things to decide on.  ON JUST THE CAKE.  So many layers, so many possibilities!  The layers can be different!  (You can imagine my brain when I learned this.)  Recently I read in some wedding magazine something to the effect of, “You like chocolate frosting?  Do it!”

Too many decisions.

Remember, we are still just talking about the cake.  At least we know where my priorities lie.

Another unrelated (or is it???  cinnamon sugar wedding cake?!?!?!) priority I have is to make as many things with cinnamon sugar as possible.  There’s a recipe for snickerdoodle blondies from Brown Eyed Baker that is amazing and eeeaaaaasyyyy easy.  I hadn’t made them in awhile, and somebody needed a birthday treat.  To birthday them up and make them a little more special, I swirled in some cheesecake batter-swirl stuff.  Um.  Yes.  I don’t like cheesecake, but I DO like cheesecake swirls (maybe I also like cheesecake?  It is weird.  My brain is changing.).  And this snickerdoodle blondies are very accommondating to cheesecake swirls.

Snickerdoodle Cheesecake Blondies

Makes about 16 blondies (one 9×9 inch pan)

Ingredients:
For blondie base
1 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup (= 1 stick) unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled
1 large egg
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg

For cheesecake swirl
4 oz. cream cheese, room temperature
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
4 large eggs

1 TBS granulated sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Line a 9×9-inch square pan with foil and grease the foil.  Set aside.
2. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Set aside.
3. In a medium bowl, stir together the melted butter and brown sugar with a rubber spatula until well-combined.  Stir in the egg and then the vanilla extract.  Add the dry ingredients and stir until just combined.  Pour the batter into the prepared pan and set aside.
4. In a medium bowl (let’s the honest…you can use the same one) or the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the cream cheese and sugar together on medium-high speed.  Beat in the eggs, one at a time, until well-combined.  Pour spoonfuls of the cream cheese mixture over the batter in the pan.  Using a thin knife and back and forth motions, swirl the cream cheese filling into the blondies.
5. Mix together the sugar and cinnamon, then sprinkle this mixture over the top of the batter in the pan.  Bake blondies until golden and dry on top, about 25 to 30 minutes.  Let blondies cool in pan on a wire rack.  Remove blondies in the foil for easy slicing.

Recipe for blondie base adapted from Brown Eyed Baker

Thanks for reading, happy baking, and send wedding help!

4 Responses to “Snickerdoodle Cheesecake Blondies”

  1. Laura Howarth 14 October 2012 at 10:23 am #

    So… 2 years planning the cake, and then 6 months planning the rest? That’s how weddings go, right? :)

    And I’m going to have to try that recipe, it looks divine!

    • FleurDeLicious 14 October 2012 at 11:07 am #

      Sounds about right to me! Let us know how it turns out when you try it. Thanks for reading!
      ~ Hannah

  2. Cathy 15 October 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Hello! I just tried these yesterday afternoon – YUM! The thing I wanted to mention is that if you use liquid egg substitute, I would go shy to what it says on the egg container. It was a close run thing to me having scrambled eggs on top because I put in too much egg and too little cream cheese. I should ALWAYS go with the gut and add too much cream cheese. This was a great one!

    • FleurDeLicious 15 October 2012 at 4:16 pm #

      Great! Thanks for letting us know you made them. Glad you liked the recipe!
      ~ Hannah

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 770 other followers

