Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Peanut Butter Cups

4 Jun

So, I did this thing a few weeks ago.

It was kinda wild and crazy and scary and exciting all at the same time.

I started a real job. Like one that could lead to a full-time job once I graduate from school (and pass the bar). Be impressed. It’s a Big Girl Job where I have to wear a Big Girl Suit and Big Girl Heels and do Big Girl Legal Work for Real Clients. I work downtown… in a skyscraper. I have a commute. It’s, like, the real deal.

Here’s the thing I’ve learned in two short weeks of my Big Girl Job: Being a grown up is HARD.

Like, seriously, grown ups, where do you find time to DO all the things? Or energy?

Don’t get me wrong. I am totally, completely, hands-down IN LOVE with my job. I love where I work, I love the people I work with, I love the work I’m doing. I’m so totally lucky in that respect (well, and others, obviously. But those are for different posts).

Coolest present ever? Those cat measuring cups. Thanks, seester!

But I get up at 7am (ew). I drive 45 minutes to work. I work for 8+ hours. I drive another 45 minutes home. I get home at 630 if I’m super lucky. At that point, I’m exhausted and totally ready to put on some sweats and lounge on the couch forever.

What’s so cruel about being a grown up is that you can’t do that! There’s no free time during the day so you have to run all your errands and do all the tasks on your to do list and get in all your workouts either before you go to work (that will NEVER happen. I am the worst at getting out of bed in the morning) or after you get home from work (that will NEVER happen. I am the worst at deciding not to watch tv for seven hours straight).

I mean, when do you go to the bank? I’m totally perplexed by this. Because I will never get home before the bank closes. Do you just save everything you have until Saturday? Ditto to dry cleaning. Now that I have a legit amount of things to take to the dry cleaner on a regular basis, I don’t get how it works with a full-time work schedule.

How do you work out? Where do you get the energy to do it? Or the time? I haven’t been to yoga since I started my job because I don’t get home in time to make it to classes. And if I do, the prospect of jumping back into the car for another 20 minute drive quickly quashes any desire I had to practice yoga. I’ve taken up running, y’all. This is serious. I’m not really sure I wanna talk about it yet.

Do you make real meals for yourself? If so, explain the process to me… No, seriously. I see why people eat so much fast food now. It is so much easier to go pick up food someone already made for you than to have to actually think about what you want to make and then how to make it and then to actually do the making of the food.

Am I just a special kind of lazy? Are these things that don’t actually bother most grown ups?

Sometimes, working with chocolate is messy…

When I can’t find the energy or desire to make real food and the prospect of running adult errands seems overwhelming, I make candy. It’s a rational choice. Obviously.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Peanut Butter Cups

Makes about 24 cups

Ingredients 

2 1/2 cups chocolate chips (I made half milk chocolate, half dark chocolate, but you can use whatever combo you want!)
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
3/4 cup powdered sugar
2 tbsp all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Line a mini muffin tin with liners. I had a hard time finding some (my dad ending up having a stash from awhile back), but Walmart says they carry them.
  2. In a small saucepan, melt butter. Add brown sugar and whisk until dissolved. Then let bubble for a few minutes. Remove from heat, and whisk in peanut butter and vanilla. Set aside to let cool completely. It’s pretty important that this get back down to room temperature or cooler before you add the rest of the ingredients. Otherwise your mini chocolate chips will melt as you try to fold them into it. Trust me. I put my (second) batch into the fridge while I did the next few steps.
  3. Melt half your chocolate. I microwaved mine for 20 seconds, stirred, then another 20-30 and stirred til the lumps were gone.
  4. Drop about 1/2 tsp into each cupcake liner. Brush the chocolate up the sides of the liner with a pastry brush. Chill in freezer for at least 10 minutes or until hardened.
  5. Once the peanut butter mixture is completely cool, whisk in the powdered sugar, salt, and flour. If you want to make this a little more cookie dough, a little less peanut butter filling, I would decrease the powdered sugar in favor of some more flour. Then, fold in the chocolate chips. Put into the fridge for a few minutes to harden the dough a bit.
  6. Once the dough and shells are chilled, drop about 1 tsp of dough into each shell. I had a little bit of dough left over so don’t freak out if you do too. Or just add more dough to the cups. That’s never a bad thing… Place back into freezer while you do the next step.
  7. Melt remaining chocolate. Drop another 1/2 tsp on top of each cup and smooth with a spoon. Place back into the freezer for a final 10-15 minutes of chill time.
  8. Because we didn’t temper the chocolate (you’re welcome to, but I’m too lazy. See above), these are best kept in the fridge. They’ll be fine out for a few hours, but will probably start to melt a little after a while.

Recipe adapted from How Sweet It Is

If you haven’t been to How Sweet It Is, you should absolutely give it a look-see. Everything she posts is something I’m confused I ever lived without. I have another 100 (give or take) recipes on my to-bake list after going through her archives (teaser: one involves bacon peanut butter banana bread. Um, hi. Yes.).

Seriously, though, if you have any secret tricks to being a grown up, send them my way. Or don’t. And I’ll just keep being in awe of your mysterious power to do all the things. Bake with love!

5 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Peanut Butter Cups”

  1. emmycooks 5 June 2012 at 12:31 am #

    I find that the people who are most successful in those jobs have a supportive spouse who works less. Or hires help. :)

  2. emmycooks 5 June 2012 at 12:32 am #

    Ps these look so good. I am not going to the other website. :)

    • FleurDeLicious 5 June 2012 at 10:59 pm #

      Man, the prospect of a personal assistant is quite tempting. Kinda like these PB cups. :) If you don’t go to the other website, you’ll miss out on things like Watermelon Basil Feta Quinoa Salad! Yum yum yum. And totally not as evil as these or bacon banana bread.
      -k

  3. Kitty's Dolceforno 5 June 2012 at 1:25 am #

    These cups are super-yummy!

    Similar situation: I commute to Central London every day [about 45 mins by tube]; you get used to it. I run all my errands at lunchtime, do chores at weekends, prepare lunches that take no more than 10 minutes to make or rely on the canteen, and wake up earlier to work out. If you are more of an evening person, finding a gym that is closer either to work or to your home makes it less likely that you get attracted by the sofa’s magnetic field. My gym is close to the office and I can’t bring myself to jump on the train at 6.30 in the morning, so I work out at home. Going after work is out of the question: pubs have strong magnetic fields too.

    • FleurDeLicious 5 June 2012 at 11:01 pm #

      You gave me all the secrets to adulthood! Thank you! Though, I have to admit, I was hoping that someone would tell me there were extra hours in the day no one tells you about til you become a grown-up. I guess practical solutions are a good substitute, though… :)
      -k

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 772 other followers

