Chocolate Chip Cookies

25 Apr

Yup. Seriously. Just plain-old, no-frills chocolate chip cookies.

It’s kinda cool how Han and I are on the same page even if we aren’t on the same city. We both make peanut butter recipes for months on end, we both went through a pumpkin phase at the same time, we both wanna post about how we have nothing in our kitchen to bake with, and now, we both made super simple, super comforting recipes. All without consulting each other. Best friendzzz.

Simplicity is where it’s at right now.

And what’s simpler than chocolate chip cookies?!

Like Hannah, I’m ruhlly (really, but with emphasis) into getting back to basics lately. Yesterday I woke up from a dream where I legit shot someone in the face (!?!). With a gun(!?!?). Four (!) times. (!?!?!?!?) (what?!?) (no seriously?! WHAT?!). I probably shouldn’t share these things with the greater interwebz. Y’all will probably stop reading because you think I’m a crazy. Please don’t do that! This will hopefully be the last time I have something like this to share. (Fingers crossed. No seriously. Not a pleasant way to wake up. In my defense, though, I did it to protect my dad. In the dream. Because he stole someone’s drugs(?). …I don’t even know. Things get so weird in your subconscious.)

Simple is sometimes disorganized.

I think my brain needs a break. I think maybe I need to make things a little bit easier, a little bit more nurturing. Because clearly something is amiss. (Promise I’m not a violent person. I’m very anti-gun. Ask my Con Law professor.)

Anyway, so I’m ruhlly into remembering the little things that make the difference between being stressed and handling it lately. Between urchin-status and taking care of yourself. This semester has been a little bit too much of the first two options and not quite enough of the second two. Apparently, there are some serious psychological repercussions to these choices of mine too (I still can’t get over it! I mean, WHAT!??).

Favorite step of baking. Butter + Sugar = Love

I’m working on remedying that. You know… just in time for finals.

Back to basics means remembering to eat breakfast in the morning. It means giving yourself enough time to eat something delicious and filling and nutritious. Breakfast is for champions. Eating it is something simple that can totally change your day for the better. Me, I’m making myself get up 15 minutes earlier so that I can enjoy my plain Greek yogurt, Honey Almond Flax Kashi, and fresh fruit before I head to class. Totes worth losing those minutes of sleep.

Simplicity means making the things you love a priority. Compromising things that make you happy for things that make you less happy does not equal awesome. Walk to school because you love having 30 minutes alone with your iPod and the sunshine. Go to yoga because it reminds you to be the best self you have that day, not the best self you have ever been or will ever be in the history of time. Accept where you are and what your limitations might be right now and work with it. Simplicity is totally about self-acceptance (even if self-acceptance is sometimes not that simple. We’ll get there.).

Uncomplicated means making a realistic schedule/to-do list/agenda and then holding yourself to it. Doesn’t life seem much more manageable when split into concrete, distinct tasks? What is more satisfying than checking something off of a list? Let’s give ourselves something to accomplish… and then DO it. And then bask in how awesome we are for being productive humans. Brush your shoulders off, member of society.

No-nonsense means making chocolate chip cookies when you want to make chocolate chip cookies. No oatmeal. No peanut butter. No crushed up snack foodz. No chopping. No sifting. None of that. Just straightforward, honest-to-goodness chocolate chip cookies. Get into it.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes about 3 dozen cookies

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup butter, room temperature
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 cup brown sugar, packed
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
2ish cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. In a separate bowl, whisk flour, baking soda, and salt together. Cream together butter and sugars.
  2. Add eggs and vanilla and beat until smooth.
  3. Add dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Fold in your chocolate chips. 2 cups felt a little excessive for me so I went about 1 1/2 cups instead of the full two. Do what you want!
  4. Cover and chill for 2 hours. You don’t have to do this step, but I recommend it. It gives the dough time to meld together and then when you go to bake your cookies, they won’t spread quite as much.
  5. Preheat your oven to 375°F.
  6. Drop two tablespoon balls of dough onto cookie sheets. Give them about two inches of space.
  7. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown around the edges. Transfer cookies to wire rack to cool completely.

Recipe from Bon Appetit

Simple is drinking a glass of red wine and giving yourself 15 minutes to just snuggle with your cat. Uncomplicated is getting dressed because it makes you feel more like a human. Back to basics is talking to your friends on the interwebz about how you made chocolate chip cookies because you just really wanted to make chocolate chip cookies. Bake with love!!

7 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. online parenting class 27 April 2012 at 5:47 am #

    choco chip cookies!<3

  2. IM 27 April 2012 at 11:16 am #

    Ruhlly? (I’m stealing that now, just letting you know) This post was so awesome. Reading it totally justified my procrastinating responding to emais right now. It gave me that little motivation I needed, that “oomph”, if you will, to keep going with my plans to make my life just a leetle more enjoyable and easier for myself, just because. To me, it was a confirmation of sorts. Simplicity is boss, thanks Kate!

    • FleurDeLicious 27 April 2012 at 2:49 pm #

      So glad to expand your vocabulary. And it’s kinda crazy how we have to remind ourselves to make our lives a little more about what we want and what’s good for us, right? But I’m totally glad I could lend a hand with that! Simplicity IS boss!
      -k.

  3. NerdyBaker 27 April 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    My husband has been whining at me to “just make some chocolate chip cookies”. I guess now is as good a time as any!

    • FleurDeLicious 27 April 2012 at 2:51 pm #

      Now is a totally perfect time for chocolate chip cookies! Eat them warm out of the oven and feel your problems melt away.
      -k.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pear Cranberry Crumble « Fleur-De-Licious - 30 November 2012

    [...] to a safe place, it would shrink Alice in Wonderland style. This is really not that weird as far as finals nightmares go for me, though. Which is also disturbing in [...]

  2. Caramelized Mushroom & Onion and Goat Cheese Biscuits | Fleur-De-Licious - 8 October 2013

    […] things that actually happened in real life and things that I dreamed happened. Considering the kinds of dreams I have when I’m stressed, this should not be […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 761 other followers

