Toasty Oat Chocolate Chip Shortbread

30 Mar

Well I was going to write about how I have no ingredients except for butter, but then Kate also ran out of ingredients and beat me to it.

That’s ok.  Let’s make this short (like SHORTBREAD – I amaze myself) and sweet. 

1. I ran out of all forms of sugar except for the powdered (confectioner’s?) kind.  Despite the fact that I will make multiple trips to Whole Foods in a short span of time to buy bulk veggie chips and coconut La Croix (aka my personal forms of crack), I have yet to remedy this situation.

2. If I didn’t put these chocolate chips in something, I would have eaten them for dins.  Just did what needed to be done.

3. I discovered that, despite my insistence upon buying 37 lbs of Quaker oats at Costco that, “MOM I eat oatmeal like EVERY MORNING,”…I still have approximately 35 lbs of oats left.  And thus I am putting them in everything.

4. Tomorrow, as soon as I finish my neuroscience exam, I am booking it to Austin to visit Kate and Mer!  That has nothing to do with the shortbread, but everything to do with the fact that I would like to finish my exam in approximately 17 minutes.

Now.  It’s shortbread time!  This is easy and super quick, and the result is crazy tender, crumbly, buttery shortbread.  Yeah.  I said it.  Buttery.

Toasty Oat Chocolate Chip Shortbread

Makes one 9×9 inch pan of shortbread

Ingredients:
12 TBS (= 1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, at softened but still a little cool
1/2 cup powdered sugar, sifted
1 3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
3/4 tsp salt, plus extra to sprinkle
3/4 tsp vanilla extract
2/3 cup old-fashioned oats
1/2 to 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips (next time I would probs use mini chips for cutting ease)

Directions:
1. In a small skillet over medium heat, toast the oats for about 6 minutes, stirring occasionally, until lightly golden and fragrant.  Remove from heat and let cool.
2. Line a 9×9 inch pan with parchment paper, leaving an overhang on 2 sides.  Lightly grease the parchment paper.
3. In a medium bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the butter and powdered sugar until light, about 2 minutes.  On low speed, beat in the salt and vanilla extract.  Using a rubber spatula, gently stir in the flour until just incorporated.  Stir in the oats and chocolate chips.
4. Spread dough/batter evenly into the prepared pan, and sprinkle the top with a little salt if desired.  Cover the pan with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 hour.
5. Preheat oven to 350F with a rack in the middle position.  Bake shortbread until golden around the edges and dry on top, about 23-30 minutes.  Let cool completely in the pan on a wire rack.  If desired, gently turn out the shortbread onto a cutting board to cut into pieces.  Because of the texture of shortbread, it might not cut so evenly.  Perfectionists beware.  Shortbread will keep, tightly covered, for 3 days.

Recipe adapted from Rosemary Shortbread Crust in Baked: Explorations

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

4 Responses to “Toasty Oat Chocolate Chip Shortbread”

  1. Fatima (@Thebakinglounge) 3 April 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Hannah and Kate! I love your blog and wit, always look forward to read Fleur-De-Licious!

    I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award!
    Check it out http://www.magnolia75thebakinglounge.com/2012/04/awards-and-nominees.html

    • FleurDeLicious 4 April 2012 at 6:46 pm #

      Thank you, Fatima! We are so flattered and so glad you enjoy the blog!

  2. NerdyBaker 5 April 2012 at 12:44 pm #

    Is it me or does this recipe scream “Dip me in coffee!”? Looks way yummy and I am sure it is something my family will be all over!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Chip Cookies « Fleur-De-Licious - 25 April 2012

    [...] went through a pumpkin phase at the same time, we both wanna post about how we have nothing in our kitchen to bake with, and now, we both made super simple, super comforting recipes. All without consulting [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 780 other followers

