IMAG0849

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Pecan Cookies

I’m pale.

Not just in the winter. Like always.

I’m not trolling for sympathy. This is my affliction and I’ve come to peace with it. Maybe. I guess. Whatever.

My fair-skinned life is never more apparent than when I go on a beach vacation. So last week in Costa Rica, I was very aware of my porcelain complexion.

When I was younger, I tried to pretend like I wasn’t a fair-skinned girl, that I could tan instead of freckle. This led to innumerable sunburns. The thing about trying to defy your fair-skinned nature is that no one suffers but you. If you were thinking of taking up such a hobby, I would say reconsider your options. Aside from the intense pain that accompanies a sunburn, having skin fall off of you as you walk isn’t the most attractive. Or so I’ve heard. I don’t know.

So it took probably 25 horrific sunburns (or maybe just some mature perspective) to stop thinking I could will my skin to tan when all it would do is burn after 10 minutes in the sun unprotected. Now I’m really mature and put on sunscreen.

Excuse me as I pat myself on the back for that (obvious) decision.

Here’s something that you may not realize as a person with normal, melanin-producing skin: covering your entire body with sunscreen is actually kinda hard.

This means that even when I try my hardest, I always walk away from a beach vacation with small, bizarrely-shaped patches of sunburn. It’s real cute. Obvi.

Like when I went to Florida with Han and her family a few years ago? Sunburned in the space between your arm and your chest. Just a little triangle. And then a parallelogram in the middle of my back.

What sunburn-souvenirs did I bring back from Costa Rica? Side of my left heel, on the top of my right foot right when my toes start, thin strip down my side, and a small circle right where my hairline starts.

So what I’m saying is, I kinda look like a patchwork quilt when I get back from the beach. It’s gonna be a new beauty trend this year. Mark my words.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes about 4 dozen cookies

Ingredients 

1/2 cup butter

3/4 cup peanut butter

1 cup dark brown sugar, packed

1/2 cup plus 2 tbsp sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups plus 2 tbsp all-purpose flour

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups oats

1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1 cup chopped pecans

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. Cream together butter, peanut butter and sugars. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well with each addition. Combine with vanilla.
  3. Whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl. Slowly add into butter mixture.
  4. Mix in oats, chocolate chips, and pecans. The cookie dough will be a little thick.
  5. Drop in heaping tablespoons onto baking sheets. These cookies won’t spread much, so give them about an inch of room.
  6. Bake for about 14 minutes or until golden brown.
  7. Let the cookies cool on the pans for a few minutes, then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

Recipe adapted from Epicurious.

Obviously, these cookies have no skin problems. They don’t try to deny what they are. They’re just delicious. As a warning, if you’re looking for soft, chewy cookies, these aren’t them. The oats and pecans make them pretty hearty cookies. Also pretty yumztown cookies.

Hope you are having a wonderful start to the new year so far! Bake with love!

One comment

  1. These are quite the tasty treats and, at least for the moment, my cookie jar overfloweth… we’ll see how long that last. Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

