DSCN3150

Chocolate Chocolate-Chip Cookies with Peanut Butter Swirl

Good news, y’all. Total peanut butter domination has returned. You can start breathing again.

Seriously. What got into our heads? That was weird. Let’s not do it again.

Do you ever feel like you somehow missed the adult train? Like there was a big class where they tell you the secret to being a grown-up and you forgot to write it down in your planner? No? Duh. Me neither.

You start with this. How could this not be delicious?

I’m definitely an adult. I make good choices. I am organized and responsible.

I did not just do my laundry for the first time in a month yesterday. That was not me. Sorry if you thought so.

I also did not leave that laundry in a pile at the foot of my bed without folding it. Definitely not. Adults make better decisions and love to fold laundry and put it away.

Yup.

If you thought it was me that only has a grapefruit, some frozen chicken breasts, Greek yogurt, and chocolate chips in her house, you would be totally wrong.

I go grocery shopping on the reg. For real food.

And I never eat queso for dinner. I eat nutritious and healthful food only. Grown-ups do that. I am a grown-up.

I also always shower every day. I’m super clean. Like an adult. Grown-ups don’t put baseball caps on to go to the library instead of washing their hair. So I definitely don’t do that either. That would be gross.

If you thought it was me that baked these cookies and watched Netflix instead of making Wills & Estates flashcards, you are sadly mistaken. Adults prioritize. They are responsible and on top of things. I am those things. Obvi.

Chocolate Chocolate-Chip Cookies with Peanut Butter Swirl

Makes about 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients

8 oz semisweet chocolate, chopped

4 tablespoons unsalted butter

2/3 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup light brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

12 oz semisweet chocolate chips

1/3 cup peanut butter

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350°F. Put the chopped chocolate and the butter into a double boiler. Stir occasionally until the chocolate is completely melted. Then remove from heat.
  2. Whisk the flour, baking powder, and salt together in a small bowl.
  3. Mix eggs, sugar, and vanilla together until frothy and light. Add the melted chocolate and butter mixture and mix until combined.
  4. Finally, mix in the flour mixture until just combined.
  5. Add the chocolate chips and drop the peanut butter in heaping tablespoons distributed throughout the bowl. Mix just to combine. If you mix it too much, you won’t have a peanut butter swirl. Your cookies will still taste like peanut butter, but they might not be as good-looking. It’s hard to resist the urge to mix just a few more times, but you can do it!
  6. Drop the batter in heaping tablespoons onto a cookie sheet about 2 inches apart. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until the cookies are cracked on top but still soft in the middle. My cookies only took about 12 minutes to get there. Let the cookies cool for about 10 minutes on the cookie sheet. Then move them to a wire rack to cool completely.
Recipe adapted from Martha Stewart.

I’m a sucker for chocolate cookies like this. They’re an awesome hybrid of cookies and brownies. So don’t freak out if the batter seems a little thin for a cookie. It should be closer to brownie batter than cookie dough. Adults make hybrid cookies. Trust me, I’m a grown-up.

Happy Monday(?), and bake with love!

5 comments

  1. I think I am going to make these and use half peanut butter and half chocolate chips. You have my adaption juices flowing.
    I am married with three kids and you have no idea how hard it is to get up the energy to fold. Sometimes I don’t fold till it is time to do laundry again!

    1. I’m so glad I’m not alone in my hatred of folding. I feel like it’s punishment for getting up the energy to do laundry in the first place. And I like your adaptation! Sounds delish. Maybe i’ll try that next time too!

Leave a Reply

