Cherry Pie

19 Oct

I think I made this pie 2 weeks ago.

Where is my life going?  I pretty much have no recollection of 19 days of October already happening.  Whirlwind.

I’m slowly but surely learning how to take care of myself like an adult and also not fail out of med school.  Exhibit a) I unloaded the dryer yesterday.  This would be less of an accomplishment had I not left a load of dry (clean!) clothes in there for a week. 

Exhibit b) I slept for 8 hours (8!) last night.  Since my mommy reads this blog I won’t tell you how many hours I slept in the nights before that.

Exhibit that proves I’m still learning: I’m still figuring out how to have time to go to the grocery store.  I mean, I have lots of food.  But I’m out of 3 essentials.  String cheese, bananas, and frozen broccoli.  So…yeah.  It’s a process.

ANYWAYS.  Isn’t there anyone out there to keep me on track about this pie?

I made it.  And then…I brought it to break-the-fast after Yom Kippur.  A.k.a…the Jews devoured all but 2 pieces.

Then I gave a piece to a starving study buddy.

Then I remembered to take a photo:


Then I ate the last piece.

I’m aware that it’s fall and everything and cherries are out of season and you want pumpkin pie, or at least apple, and you wore a scarf today and I’m throwing off this whole transition into fall.  I know.  But maybs your dad brought you back sour cherries from Michigan this summer, and maybs you put them in the freezer because cherries were everywhere during the summer, and you knew that come October all you’d really want would be a cherry pie.

Maybs.

Maybs you also enjoy run-on sentences as much as I do.

I used my new favorite all-butter pie crust and a pretty cool method for getting the filling to be thick and not super runny.  No one like a runny filling and a soggy crust.  Ewgross.  It was buttery and flaky and fruity.  Everything a pie should be!

Cherry Pie

Makes 1 9-inch pie

Ingredients:
For crust
2 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 tsp salt
2 TBS granulated sugar
1 cup (= 2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into small pieces and frozen
1/4 cup ice water, plus more if necessary (I only used 1/4 cup, but it depends on the weather.  No, really.)
1 TBS milk or cream
extra sugar for sprinkling

For filling
about 6 cups tart cherries, pitted, any juice drained and reserved
3/4 cup granulated sugar
4 TBS cornstarch
1/2 tsp almond extract

Directions:
1. For crust – In a large food processor, pulse the flour, salt, and sugar until combined.  Add the cold butter, and pulse 10 times (1 second per pulse) until the mixture looks like coarse crumbles.  Don’t pulse any more than 10 times!
2. With the food processor running, add the ice water in a steady stream.  Process just until the dough begins to hold together.  Mine took about 20 seconds, but don’t process longer than 30 seconds.  If you need to, add more ice water 1 TBS at a time.  The dough should stick together when you pinch it with your fingers, but it won’t be a ball of dough.
3. Turn the dough out onto a clean counter and divide it in half.  Gather each portion into a ball, then flatten the ball to a disk.  Wrap each disk in plastic wrap and refrigerate at least 1 hour or overnight.  (You can freeze the dough for 1 month, just thaw it in the fridge.)
4. Roll out 1 disk to a 12-inch round on a lightly floured surface.  Gently fold the dough in quarters to transfer it to the pie plate. (You can also wrap it around your rolling pin, or roll it out between 2 sheets of wax paper then transfer.)  Trim the edges to a 1/2-inch overhang.  Freeze the pie shell until firm, about 30 minutes.
5. For filling – While the pie shell is in the freezer, make the filling.  Preheat the oven to 400ºF with a baking sheet on a lower rack (lower third of the oven).
6. In a small bowl, whisk together the cornstarch and 1/2 cup + 2 TBS reserved cherry juices (if you don’t have enough cherry juice, add water to make up the difference).  Combine the sugar and 1 cup of cherries in a medium saucepan over medium-low heat.  Stir often and heat until the cherry juice is boiling.  Add the cornstarch mixture and stir the mixture continuously until the mixture thickens and turns clear.  (It will still be red, it just won’t be cloudy from the cornstarch.)
7. Put the rest of the cherries in a large bowl and toss with the almond extract.  Pour the thickened cherry mixture over the remaining cherries and fold them in.
8.  Transfer the filling to the frozen pie shell.  Roll out the remaining pie crust.  If desired, cut out lattice strips (excellent directions at Simply Recipes).  To make a double crust pie, roll out the crust to an 11-inch round and lay it over the filling.  Trim the edges so they’re even with the bottom crust.  Pinch the two layers together.  Slice 4 steam vents in the top crust and brush it with milk.  Sprinkle granulated (or sanding) sugar over the top crust.
9. Place the pie dish on top of the preheated baking sheet.  Bake the pie for about 20 minutes until it starts to turn golden.  If needed, cover the edges with foil to keep them from browning too quickly.  Reduce the oven temperature to 350ºF and continue baking for about 40 to 50 more minutes, until the filling is bubbling thickly and the top crust is golden brown.  You can move the pie up to a higher rack during baking if the bottom crust is golden and the top needs to bake more.  Let the pie cool completed on a wire rack before serving.  Pie will keep, wrapped up in the fridge, for 2 to 3 days.

Recipe for crust from Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook; recipe for filling from Nick Malgieri’s Bake!

Okay friends.  Time for me to go get 8 hours of sleep again.  Look Mom!

Thanks for reading, happy baking!

 

2 Responses to “Cherry Pie”

  1. frugalfeeding 20 October 2011 at 3:41 am #

    It looks really beautiful. I love the lattice effect on the top of pies like this.

  2. NerdyBaker 21 October 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    “Ewgross”, I say this so much my two year old says it! The pie looks great, crust looks awesome (I just recently started making my own) and the filling is so not runny I will have to try it sometime.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 772 other followers

