Oatmeal Banana Chocolate Chip Scones

17 Oct

This past week was a pretty big week, y’all.

So much room for activities.

Lots of milestones. Let’s talk about it!

This week I:

1. Cut all my hair off. Well, not all my hair. But a lot of it. I am now the proud owner of a bob. Kinda love it. It might be the best.

2. Took The Accountant to The Salt Lick for some Texas barbecue. It was delish. For the record: he very much enjoyed it, but still prefers Franklin’s in Austin.

3. Finished the first season of Felicity. So good. I love me some Keri Russell and her huge, huge sweaters.

4. Went on a boat cruise on Town Lake for law school. Super fun. Super ridiculous. Law school social scene in a nutshell.

5. Attended my first college football game. Ever! My undergrad didn’t have a football team. And I was too cheap to buy tickets last year(or this year). My Roomz suggested we go this weekend, though. I’m so glad we did. Though that leads to number 6…

6. Got a truly epic sunburn on my face. It was October 15. Who thinks they need to put on sunscreen in the middle of October?!?! Apparently, my skin is fair year-round. Weird.

7. Watched the Rangers slam their way into the World Series! Again! How exciting!!! (Sorry if we have Detroit readers. It was a great series.).

8. Oh. And I did some homework. In there. Somewhere. Sometimes in law school you have to read words in books. It’s so lame.

But the thing you care about most is:

9. I baked some scones. Out of bananas. Banana scones. They were pretty awesome.

Oatmeal Banana Chocolate Chip Scones

Makes about 12 scones 

Ingredients 

1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup plus two tablespoons light brown sugar, packed

3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 tablespoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/3 cup plus two tablespoons old-fashioned rolled oats

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, chilled

1 cup overripe bananas, mashed

1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 425°F.
  2. Sift together flour, 1/4 cup sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add in oats and mix to combine.
  3. Cut in the butter until it starts to resemble coarse meal. You really don’t want to overmix this. You want the butter to stay cold until you put the scones in the oven.
  4. Add in mashed banana and chocolate chips. Stir until just combined. Your batter might be a little wet or a little dry depending on the state of your bananas. If it’s too dry, I would add buttermilk. If it’s too wet, add some more flour. Try to mix as little as possible, though.
  5. Turn dough out onto floured surface. Knead 6 times.
  6. Pat into rectangle about 1 inch thick. Unfortunately, I didn’t take down what the measurements of that rectangle were. Sorry!
  7. Cut in half horizontally , then into three sections vertically. You want six squares. Then cut each square diagonally.
  8. Transfer to an ungreased baking sheet. Sprinkle remaining brown sugar and oats on top of scones. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden brown.

Recipe adapted from Epicurious.

These scones were a little bit wet to be honest-to-goodness scones. I don’t think I got the wet-to-dry ratio totally perfect. Feel free to mess around with it! Mine turned out with a consistency a little bit like banana bread. So if you want it to feel more scone-y, add a little more flour.

Parting thoughts: I am so totally stumped about Halloween this year. Any really awesome ideas you feel like sharing? I promise we won’t go to the same party and then show up in the same costume and have it be all awkward and weird. I would never do that to you. If you have brilliant costume ideas you want to share, lemme hear ‘em! Otherwise, I will revert to my go-to costume: a banana. So fitting, right?

Anyway, happy middle of October! Bake with love!

2 Responses to “Oatmeal Banana Chocolate Chip Scones”

  1. Why am I the Accountant? 19 October 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    I don’t like titles.

    Also, where is the peanut butter?

    I have no Halloween costume ideas. Banana is classic. Banana zombie is a timely response to the zombie craze.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. weekly bake #7: oatmeal banana chocolate chip pecan (breath!) scones. « burning down the house - 16 December 2012

    [...] recipe was adapted from fleur-de-licious’s recipe, which was adapted from a basic oatmeal scone recipe on [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 780 other followers

