DSCN3105

Sweet Cherry Cobbler

I had a miniature panic attack at Starbucks this afternoon.

I have a collection of about 486,000 recipes that I’ve cut out from various magazines over the years.  It could be a million recipes, a billion even, I don’t know.  I’m terrible at math.  Anyways, I’ve finally started going through these recipes and gluing them down so they can all go in a binder.

(I’m completely aware that we have the interwebs and computers and such.  I’m an old lady, and I like things on paper, okay?)

So.  I’m at Starbucks – feeling slightly awkward because the man who was sitting in the chair next to me apparently only came to Starbucks to take his afternoon nap – and I’m sorting and gluing away and OH MY LANTA I HAVE SO MANY RECIPES.


I cut out all these recipes!  And I have all these cookbooks!  And it’s not like I ever stop buying cooking magazines.  And hello?  There’s this big wide glorious world of food bloggers out there, and pretty much everyday when I wake up, I have a 18 new recipes waiting in my inbox.

There’s also the fact that half the time when I think of recipe to make, I just search the internets, completely neglecting my cookbooks and recipe cut outs.  And…there are recipes in my brain!


I’m fairly certain that I will never, in my whole life, have time to make all of these recipes.  Even if I live to be 372 years old.  Even if I make every single meal from scratch.  Except, truth time, I love Chipotle, Great Outdoors, Pei Wei, Pancake House (not IHOP), Houston’s, Snuffer’s cheese fries, and Chuy’s, just to name a few…so…this whole every-meal-from-scratch thing is not happening.

Oh well.  I guess the outcomes are the same anyways.  I make something yummy.  Like sweet cherry cobbler.


I bought 3 lbs of cherries.  For $4.99!!!  Crazy yo.  Then I pitted them all…with this:


(Anyone wishing to buy and send me a cherry pitter will obvs be my friend.)

All these people say silly things like you shouldn’t bake with sweet cherries, only sour ones.  Well.  Some people have lots of fresh sweet cherries, and some people are bakers, and some people just bake with the sweet ones.


Some people means me.  And sweet cherries make lovely cobblers, don’t let anyone convince you otherwise.

Sweet Cherry Cobbler

Makes about 6 servings

Ingredients:
3 1/2 to 4 cups sweet cherries, pitted (can also use frozen)
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tsp cornstarch
1/2 tsp almond extract
1 TBS Southern Comfort liquor (can easily be omitted…brandy or bourbon can also be substituted)

For topping (I like a high topping to filling ratio…you could halve or 3/4 the topping recipe if you like a different ratio)
1 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 TBS granulated sugar
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
3 TBS cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
2/3 cup cold milk (I used 2%) or buttermilk

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 425ºF with a rack in the middle position.
2. In a medium bowl, combine the cherries, sugar, and cornstarch.  Toss to distribute the sugar and cornstarch.  Add the almond extract and Southern Comfort; stir to combine.  Pour cherries into a 9×9-inch square baking dish or 9-inch deep pie pan.  Set aside.
3. In another medium bowl, combine the flour, 4 tsp sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Work in the butter, either with your hands or a pastry cutter, until the mixture is crumbly.  Add the milk and stir the mixture very gently, just until combined.  Do not overmix.  We want a tender biscuit topping here!
4. Spoon the biscuit batter evenly over the cherries, but don’t worry if the batter doesn’t cover the whole surface of the fruit.  Sprinkle the remaining granulated sugar over the batter.  Bake the cobbler for about 20 to 25 minutes, until the top is dry and golden.  Let cobbler cool slightly on a wire rack.  Serve warm or at room temperature, with ice cream if you’re feeling fancy!

Recipe adapted from Gourmet via Epicurious

Now back to the crazy recipe collection.  Thanks for reading, happy baking!

This recipe is linked up to Sweet Indulgences Sunday and Sweets for a Saturday…go check out all the great recipes!

11 comments

  1. I am pretty much in love with Chuy’s too! I wish more of my friends were into food.

    And, even though I work at IHOP, I like pancake house better as well. You’re in the DFW area right? If you visit Austin, like, ever. You have to go to the original Chuy’s. It’s heaven..

    1. I’ve been! It’s amazing. Chuy’s is defs my favorite tex-mex, I could eat their queso everyday.

  2. LOL at your post! I SO relate. :)

    I’ve only made sour cherry cobbler, and yours intrigues me – I think the fresh cherries would be awesome! Looks delicious.

  3. This is without doubt the best cherry cobbler recipe I have ever tasted. Hannah has made it many times over the past few years, for family dinners and special festivities with friends. It is delicious. And our sweet manicure ladies still giggle with us about the first time they had to help us get the cherry juice stain out of our nails after we pitted pounds of fresh cherries for a humongous party cobbler. We’ve since learned to do it with disposable gloves on, thus saving our manicures.

  4. Picked 10 pounds of cherries today. Searched all over the internet for a good cherry cobbler recipe. Stumbled upon this one. Well,.. I followed it to the “t”,.. and it was a true dissapointment. Horrible. Filling had the taste of too much butter,.. topping was hard as a brick. Not sure what went wrong,.. but something went wrong in a bad way.

    1. Hi Amanda – I’m so sorry it didn’t turn out! I’m not sure what to suggest for the filling…I don’t know why it tasted like too much butter since there’s no butter in the filling. As for the topping, I did note that I like a high topping-to-filling ratio. Perhaps it was too much? It’s kind of like a biscuit dough too, in that it’s easy to overmix, producing a denser dough. Again, I’m sorry! I hope you make something delicious with the rest of your cherries :)
      – H

  5. Made this today and followed recipe to a T. It was good but even with using sweet cherries (rather than sour ones) I wish I had put more sugar in the fruit. The biscuit topping was good but again I wish I had put a bit more sugar in it. I even sprinkled the topping very lightly with sugar and it wasn’t enough sweetness. I will make this recipe again. A different local store has cherries on sale this week. I’ll send a review of my 2nd attempt then.

  6. I made this and really like it. I had to get creative with my ratios since I enough cherries for 4 x but later discovered that I only had enough flour and butter for 3 x. It worked very nicely, though. I like the “biscuit” topping. Since I am in Kentucky I used bourbon which is obviously the reason it turned out so well! :)

Leave a Reply

