DSCN2631

Pineapple-Peach-Cherry Crisp

I think we’ve been friends for long enough for me to tell you that I have fabric issues.

Serious.  Fabric.  Issues.

I need fabric – of all sorts – to lay how it’s supposed to lay.

For example: socks.  Sometimes you wear boots, and you wear socks, and your socks are kind of wimpy and losing their elastic, and as the day wears on they slowly creep down your ankle until they’re stuck under your heel.  This kind of occurrence can make me seriously grumpypants.


Exhibit B: long-sleeve shirts under sweaters.  If those shirt sleeves get all bunched up under the sweater sleeves…oh boy.  Watch out.  No bueno.

Also: sheets.  Anyone who has ever lived with me can attest to my crazy fabric issues because they’ve seen me make or sleep in a bed.  Sheets should be pulled tight.  And even.  Hellooooo.  When I get all snuggly in bed at night, there better not be sheets all bunched up at the bottom of the bed.


Knowing this about me, perhaps you can imagine how I feel about removable pads in swimsuit tops.  First of all, there is no instance in which I don’t want the assistance of those pads.  Why in the name of all that is good would I want to remove them???  Second of all, “removable” really means “movable,” as in they’ll move all over the place and get all folded and bunched up in there.

Clearly, summer can be a stressful time for those with fabric issues.

To make it a little easier to manage, we should all eat:
1. pineapple
2. peaches
3. cherries
4. crisp

Conveniently, I combined all of these things into one dish, just for you!  And for me.  And my family.


This dish is crazy adaptable.  You can use other fruits, although I think pineapple deserves attention other than in upside down cake.  The crisp topping is so easy the Weatherman could make it.  It probs takes longer to cut up all the fruit than it does to make the rest of the dish.

(Well, minus the baking time.)

Hooray!  Go forth!  Make crisp!  And if you live where they have Blue Bell ice cream, defs find some vanilla and scoop it alongside the crisp.  If you don’t live where they have Blue Bell ice cream, I’m sorry.  I don’t know what to tell you.

Pineapple-Peach-Cherry Crisp

Makes 8 servings

Ingredients:
1 regular-sized pineapple (not the mini ones), peeled, cored, and cut into chunks
6 small or 4 medium peaches, peeled, pitted, and sliced
1 cup cherries, pitted and halved
3/4 cup plus 1 TBS unbleached all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cup old-fashioned oats
10 TBS unsalted butter, chilled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces
3/4 cup plus 1 TBS light brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp salt

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350ºF with a rack in the middle position.  Lightly grease a 11-3/4 by 7-1/2 inch baking dish (sorry for the odd size…should be about a 10 cup baking dish).
2. In a large bowl, combine the pineapple, peaches, and cherries.  Sprinkle 1 TBS flour and 1 TBS light brown sugar over the fruit and toss lightly to combine (you can adjust the sugar depending on the sweetness of your fruit).  Transfer the fruit to the baking dish and set aside.
3. In a medium bowl, combine 3/4 cup flour, oats, 3/4 cup brown sugar, cinnamon, and salt and whisk to combine.  Add the chilled butter.  Using either your fingertips (my preference) or a pastry blender, work the butter into the dry ingredients until there are pieces of butter no larger than pea-size.  Sprinkle the crisp topping evenly over the fruit.
4. Bake the crisp for about 32 to 40 minutes, until the fruit is bubbling and the topping is golden brown.  Let cool on a wire rack slightly before serving.  Serve crisp warm, room temperature, or even cold the next day…by itself or with ice cream.  Crisp will keep in an airtight container, in the refrigerator, for 2 days.

fabric issues cured.

Recipe adapted from my brain

I hope everyone is having a fabulous, fabric-issue-free summer!  Thanks for reading, happy baking!

3 comments

  1. That crisp sounds fabulous! Pineapple, cherries AND peach? And crisp? Yumm… yes, those are some serious fabric issues! I’m sure the crisp helped… :) Nice ‘meeting’ you! Thanks for stopping by my blog… I think your blog is great… Will be visiting again!

  2. omg your too funny!! thanks for stopping by! the crisp is amazing and I love the line about blue bell!! love Texas we have blue bell everywhere!!

    sweetlife

Leave a Reply

