DSCN1880

Big Vegan Ginger Molasses…Muffies?

I did a favor for my friend Kate.

My pretty best friend.

This favor didn’t exactly work out how she wanted it to, I don’t think.

I was supposed to make these Big Soft Ginger cookies, with cracks on top and more ginger flavor.  Sounds easy enough, right?

Thennn I got distracted by these Soft Vegan Ginger cookies.  Understandable.  I get distracted by a lot of things Joy the Baker makes.

So I thought, why don’t I just combine the two.  Could I possibly make Big AND Soft AND Vegan Ginger (lots of ginger!) cookies?!?  With cracks on top!??!?!

Ehhh.  ish.  Sort of.  More or less.  They’re vegan.  Soft.  Big.  Gingery.  But…cookies?  They’re round and cookie-shaped.  But they’re just so dang soft.  And light.  Kind of cakey.  And goodness, I’m sorry, but they didn’t crack on top like on AllRecipes.

I think I’ll call them muffies.  I was thinking muffin tops, but that term has a not-so-fun connotation.  Big Vegan Ginger Muffies?  (I’m a little concernicus that a muffie is going to turn out to mean something horribly wrong…so…if you know of any alternate meanings, be a friend and let me know.)

Can you tell they're kind of like muffin-cookies?

Plenty of people loved these muffies (teehee).  I really enjoyed the texture and the depth of flavor, what with the molasses and the fresh ginger.  However, I made an important discovery in making these.  I do not like crystallized ginger.  Not one bit.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love me some ginger.  Ginger tea, ginger in my stir fries, gingerbread, and so forth.  But these bits of candied ginger are not for me.  Lots of lovely boys and girls enjoyed them though, so don’t let my fear of ginger bits scare you away from making these!   They did help me up the ginger ante, as per Kate’s request!

Snack time!

Seeing as I made these for Kate, then sent them all to work with the Weatherman, perhaps I’ll just make some puppy chow and send that to my bff.  We already know that recipe is perfect.

Big Vegan Ginger Molasses Muffies (for Kate, sort of)

Makes about 2 dozen muffies

Ingredients:
2 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup + 2 TBS granulated sugar (divided use)
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/4 cup canola oil
3/4 tsp finely grated fresh ginger
1/4 cup molasses (not blackstrap)
1 cup crystallized ginger, chopped

Directions:
1. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.  Set aside
2. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together 1 cup of sugar, applesauce, and canola oil to combine.  Add the ginger and molasses and whisk to combine.  Add the dry ingredients to the molasses mixture, and stir gently with a rubber spatula until just combined.  Fold in the crystallized ginger.  Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate until chilled and slightly firmer, about an hour or overnight.
3. Preheat oven to 350ºF with racks in the upper middle and lower middle positions.  Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.  Scoop the dough/batter by tablespoonfuls-ish, so that you have walnut-sized balls of dough/batter (not sure what to call it).  If your dough is firm enough, roll each dough ball in the remaining 2 TBS sugar; otherwise, just place the dough balls on the lined baking sheets about 2 inches apart and sprinkle the remaining sugar over the tops.  Bake for about 10-15 minutes, switching pans top to bottom and rotating front to back halfway through, until just set in the centers.  The muffies will be golden brown and fragrant when done.  Let cool for a few minutes on the baking sheets, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely  The muffies will keep in an airtight container for 3 days.  Just like muffins, they are yummy with tea!

Recipe adapted from Joy the Baker and AllRecipes

Do you have a favorite ginger cookie recipe that cracks on top?  Apparently I’m still on the hunt for one.  Thanks for reading, happy baking!

 

2 comments

  1. Aw you blogged on request! Thanks for trying! Who knew that bakery ginger cookies were actually a well-guarded secret? Those look delish, though. All-in-all, job well done.

    Next assignment is a skillet cake. Also puppy chow and Jane Eyre. Let’s make these things happen.

Leave a Reply

